Skip to Main Content
Skip to Main Content

Judd Jacobson Memorial Award

Celebrating Entrepreneurial Spirit

Established in 1992, the Judd Jacobson Memorial Award recognizes pursuit or achievement of a business entrepreneurial endeavor by a person with a physical disability or sensory impairment. The award recipient receives a special plaque, a $5,000 cash award to advance their entrepreneurial business endeavor and is honored at a special event at Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute - Golden Valley Campus.

Application for 2014 Judd Jacobson Memorial Award (PDF)

Application for 2014 Judd Jacobson Memorial Award (Word version)


  • Have a physical disability or sensory impairment
  • Demonstrate pursuit of achievement of an entrepreneurial business endeavor
  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Reside in Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, North Dakota or South Dakota

Individuals and groups are welcome to apply for the award.  Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute and Courage Kenny Foundation employees are not eligible.

Selection Process

To be considered for the award, nominees or their nominator, must complete a nomination form and clearly specify how the money will be used to further their business endeavor. Nominees may attach supplementary information to support their nomination, including a biography/resume, letters of recommendation and a business plan.  Finalists may be asked to come to Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute for an interview. The recipient and runners up will be notified of the selection committee’s decision shortly after the interview.

Please email with any questions.

Stay tuned for additional information about an event date and additional details.

Recent Judd Jacobson Memorial Award Recipients

2013 - Joel Boonstra, bison farmer

2012 - Aaron Cross, Independent Living Skills specialist/inspirational speaker


About the Jacobson Award

The Judd Jacobson Memorial Award is named for the late Minnesota business leader who became a quadriplegic as a result of a diving accident. The award is administered by Courage Kenny Foundation, with funds made possible by Daniel J. Gainey, a lifelong friend of Jacobson.


Joel Boonstra

Learn more about 2013 recipient Joel Boonstra