Skip to Main Content
Skip to Main Content

National Courage Award

The National Courage Award is presented by Courage Center to individuals who have made outstanding contributions on behalf of people with disabilities. 

2012    Award not presented

2011    James S. Krause, Ph.D., spinal cord injury researcher

2010    Judith Heumann, disability rights advocate

2009   Jordan Thomas, founder, the Jordan Thomas Foundation

2008   Jim Ramstad, Minnesota Congressman

2007   Michael Graves, architect and designer, Universal design advocate

2006   Emmanuel Ofosu Yeboah, Ghana, disability rights advocate

2005   Trisha Meili, Central Park jogger and disability advocate

2004   Erik Weihenmayer, mountain climber and disability awareness advocate

2003   Award not presented

2002   Vernon H. Heath, philanthropist, advocate, co-founder/CEO, Rosemount, Inc.

2001   Janet Reno, United States Attorney General

2000   Award not presented

1999   Bob Dole, former U.S. Senator

1998   Award not presented

1997   Justin Dart Jr., citizen advocate for the ADA

1996   Christopher Reeve, actor and activist

1994-95   Edward V. Roberts, president, World Institute on Disability

1993   John Hockenberry, journalist

1992   Bree Walker, journalist

1990-91   Dr. I. King Jordan, president, Gallaudet University

1989   Stephen Hawking, physicist and author

1988   Cliff Crase, wheelchair sports advocate

1987   Marilyn Price Spivack, co-founder, National Head Injury Foundation

1986   Itzhak Perlman, violinist

1985   Joni Eareckson Tada, author, lecturer, founder of Joni and Friends

1984   Wilko Schoenbohm, executive director, Courage Center

1983   Robert & Dorothy DeBolt, advocates - adoption of children w/special needs

1982   George Conn, commissioner, Rehabilitation Administration

1981   Max Cleland, administrator, Veterans Affairs

1980   Anne Carlsen, administrator, Anne Carlsen School